In Search of the Greater Adjutant Stork


I’m not sure why I wrote “Greater Adjutant” on this card. Obviously I was in search of the Lesser Adjutant population. What an absurd mistake. Ha. I know full well that the Bronx Zoo only has Lesser Adjutants – I had researched it ahead of time. What I hadn’t researched is where they’re kept. As it turns out, birds of prey are kept in a different section of the zoo from the rest of the birds, so I didn’t get a chance to see them. Next time!

Jam likes me to make these machine readable so that the blind can enjoy them too; I really ought to do this with every card, but I keep forgetting until I correspond with him. Transcript follows.

June Eighteenth, Two Thousand Twelve
My Dear Jam,
I’m doing better at actually getting out and about in the city these days, exploring more than just the purveyors of spirits. In the past 3 weeks I’ve seen the aquarium, the Prospect Park Zoo, and the Bronx Zoo. I witnessed an enormous snow leopard performing aerial acrobatics as it chased its tail, birds that eat bees, an adorable napping red panda (2 others previously, actually), and a zookeeper who was visibly startled to discover that I was in search of the Greater Adjutant Stork. Ran out of time and never found said bird… plan to return soon. Free music in the park & a BK Cyclones game on deck… I bought the “FEAST-IVAL” ticket for all you can eat hot dogs and watermelon. Life is grand!! Miss you. xoxo Rena

Leave a Reply

