My Pie Icon


My grandparents used to grow all manner of fruit, and my grandma used to make pies and crisps seemingly all the time (I lived what one friend called “a charmed food childhood”). I miss the days when I could call my grandma and ask her how to bake things… her answers are a bit more vague now, whereas she used to know measurements off the top of her head. Anyway, that I got into my 30’s without making a pie crust that I was pleased with (mostly for lack of trying) is kind of ridiculous. This postcard catalogues a turning point: the future involves more pie.

2 thoughts on “My Pie Icon

  1. Beautiful. I haven’t overcome my fear of making crust, and I don’t even have a pie icon. Damn. I’m going to aspire to be someone’s banana bread buddha.

Leave a Reply

