Rural Urbanites


This is the first of what is bound to be a frequent occurrence here: the Mount St. Helens postcard.

As a kid in the 80’s, I often found myself digging through the drawers at my grandparents’ house when I would visit them for the summer.  So many bizarre treasures to be found!   In the wide shallow drawer under the bookcases in the TV room, there were always the same few Mount St. Helens postcards that intrigued me.  I must have looked at them every summer.  Years later when my grandparents moved from that house, I snagged three of the postcards that I had looked at over and over during the years. I’ve got them in frames to this day (albeit cheap ones… time to upgrade).

I was admiring these framed postcards recently, wishing I could part with them to send to someone, and it occurred to me that I may be able to find copies of them on eBay. Of course, eBay had so many I’d never seen that I ended up buying a bunch of them.  Oops.  Apologies in advance; I’ll try to intersperse them with everything else I’ve got. I keep finding more postcards from my time in Southeast Asia, so this shouldn’t be a problem.

P.S. Something that I’m finding really difficult about this project is having to relive all of my typos. “On the track” was what I was thinking at the time, but I so wish I had written simply, “on track.” Sigh.

Leave a Reply

