Magical Tailors


Don’t judge me, I’m a bit rusty at this postcard writing business.  This isn’t nearly as well crafted as the one Jam sent to me.  Sorry Jam.

It’s a little embarrassing, but I just had to look up the price of a postcard stamp. I’ve been overpaying using Forever stamps for everything the past few years. It’s a little like having an unlimited subway pass, you don’t really notice the per-ride hike when they raise the prices, you just know you’re paying more. I don’t even know how much I paid for the Forever stamps, come to think of it. This card was a 7-incher, which apparently costs the same as a letter… who knew?!  Everyone but me, I’m guessing.

From usps.com:

  • First-Class Mail® Postcards
    Maximum size: 6 inches long by 4-1/4 inches high by .016 inch thick
    $0.29
  • First-Class Mail® Large Postcards
    Maximum size: 11-1/2 inches long by 6-1/8 inches high by 1/4 inch thick
    $0.44

Later this month these rates are going up (great time to start a snail mail project, Rena); postcards will go up 3 cents to $0.32, and letters (as well as larger postcards, I’m guessing) are going up 1 cent to $0.45. It strikes me as sad that the cost of posting a letter will no longer be a palindrome as of the 22nd (22 itself a palindrome, and in fact my favorite number). I suspect I am the only one who this would occur to. Sorry to drag you from your cozy oblivion into my world of number angst.

I just dropped $56.30 on postage to prepare for the coming rate hikeocalypse, so the only thing standing in the way of this blog being a success (measured in actual postcards sent, scanned, and uploaded) is me.

P.S. I don’t intend on actually writing this much usually, I’m just itching to write a postcard and move this thing along, but I don’t have one on me, and I’m killing time at my desk after work to avoid going out into the cold.

Leave a Reply

